Home > Social Media > aFirst-Time Tweeter: What I’ve Learned

aFirst-Time Tweeter: What I’ve Learned

The world of Twitter has always been something that I’ve found to be repulsive, somewhat annoying and a waste of time. For someone like me who is more about the act of actually doing something, like hanging out with friends or going to an event, rather than informing people what I’m up to and being concerned with what others are doing, I just don’t feel the need to have Twitter as apart of my life. I’m not here to bash Twitter or the people who use it, because there’s nothing wrong with it, but it’s just not for me. If I want to connect with friends and family, I’ll simply text or call them, chat on Facebook, write on there Facebook wall or occasionally update my status. These ways of communicating with the people I care about is sufficient enough for me.

With that being said I’ve recently created a Twitter account. Why you may ask? I’m currently taking an Online Media Writing class and my professor wants us to be familiar with how to “Tweet” and interact in the world of Twitter. I never had any intention in joining Twitter before, but now I’m giving it a shot, mainly because I have to. I hope to find what makes Twitter so amusing as so many others have found this too. A good amount of my friends are apart of the community known as Twitter, so it would be nice to see what it’s all about.

I haven’t learned much yet, but Tweeting seems to be a lot more complicated than the other popular social network, Facebook. It seems like there’s much to learn, such as re-tweeting, putting the @ symbol before the person you wish to tweet, putting the # symbol at the end of a tweet if you want to tweet to a keyword as well as the many other functions I’m sure I’m not yet familiar with. So my plan is to do some research so I can become a better Tweeter and also ask for some advice from my fellow Tweeter’s in order to polish up on my Tweeting skills and get this thing down. If you want to follow me or have any comments/suggestions about Twitter please feel free to contact me at my Twitter account, david_lundquist, thanks!

Categories: Social Media Tags: , , ,
  1. Ellen Mrja
    October 12, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    You are too early in the game to give up on Twitter. I do think it could help establish your personal and professional brand. Good writing. Check your punctuation and spelling. +8/10

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

